Professional Hopes and Goals

My career of working with children and families within the social services field has, so far, been an interesting and rewarding experience. I get the opportunity to meet and interact with families of various cultures. Working with children and families is a career I have grown to love and remain passionate about. One hope that I have as I continue to work with children and families is to continue to offer an environment that educates, nurtures, respects, and is tolerant of their diverse cultural experiences. I hope to offer an environment that celebrates individuality and diversity, and fosters the opportunity to increase equity among those I serve. I hope to also increase my cultural capital and habitus as I seek to gain insight and learn from each family’s individual cultural experiences. One goal that I would like to set for the early childhood field related to issues of diversity, equity, and social justice is to continue the efforts and research to encourage a healthy environment that is accessible and culturally responsive where children and families can grow and learn from each other. In addition, offer an environment where issues of prejudice and discrimination can also be addressed in a healthy way. Children come into the world as innocent beings. They learn from what they are taught as they mature throughout their environmental experiences.

To each of my colleagues, it has been a pleasurable journey in this course growing and learning with, and from each of you. Each one of your discussions and responses has provided hope, and has allowed me to look at the issues of cultural differences, equity, and opportunities for social justice in a much more positive way. I wish each of you continued success as you carry out your educational goals, and as you strive to make a difference one family at a time.

Leave a comment